The airport chronicles

As I sit here in the Halifax Stanfield International Airport, I can’t help but think about the few other times I have graced any airport with my presence. Although this trip is going to be much shorter, and will just include   time spent in my country with my other half (Cassie Pilon’s cat junior) it still has a lot in common with the others.

I’m stil travelling to a place I’ve never been, I’m sure I’ll be meeting people I never have, and eating very little of the local cuisine (I’m pretty picky). I’m also an hour early as per usual, which is why I sit here writing to you instead of sleeping the extra hour in my nice comfortable bed, which I miss dearly.

When my blog had just first started, and was finding its feet I wrote from an airport, on my way to Orlando, Florida. I was waiting for my first big adventure, I was expecting to be wowed and struck with life changing epiphanies. I thought: a new country, I’m travelling so far, this must be important. A short time later I wrote from an airport, on my way to Quebec. I thought: still Canada, there’s going to be a lot of poutine, I’ll be learning French (yawn), probably not that important. 

Both of these places, I was very wrong about. 

When I went to Florida, it was a shorter trip, but I volunteered, and it was great and all but it didn’t exactly leave me thinking wow my life has been changed in some way. It was kind of the same things I’d been doing back home, with the exception of Disney and Orlando Studios. This trip was fun, a lot of fun, but it wasn’t full of epiphanies as I had expected. 

When I went to Quebec, it was more than I could have imagined any trip to be. I honestly could’ve backed out, I wasn’t looking forward to it too much. However, the people I met, and the things I learned (French and otherwise) will stick with me forever and many things I learned (about myself) are now daily reminders in my pursuit of doing more than just getting by.

It left me with wanderlust, not in the way of needing to be halfway across the world (although I wouldn’t complain), but in the way of simply needing to see things I have never seen before. To just travel to somewhere, anywhere. To have adventure as often as possible, no matter how small. 

Sometimes it is the most unexpected places that we find our lives changed: in people you never thought you would meet, in places you never thought to see, in walking down the street eating a baguette (a whole one) to yourself. 

So sitting here in this very empty airport, watching a very cool sunrise through a lot of clouds, I just want to remind you to accept any adventure. If you have the opportunity to go anywhere do it, whether it is to the other end of the province, the other end of the country, the other end of the world, or just to visit your bff in their hometown. Go places, do things, open your eyes. 

Never be afraid to wander,

xo

CL

^^ dis is my view

Leave a Reply

