Realistic Recipes: Supper Style

If we’re being perfectly honest, do any of us really measure when we cook? (Yes Cassey most of us do)

Well if you don’t, this is the post for you, because most of the time, I don’t either. 

Sometimes I just get an idea in my head and I think, “yeah that sounds like it would taste good”. So I make it. Usually I look up an original recipe, start to follow it, leave stuff out because I’m picky, add stuff in because I like bacon on everything, and then end up screwing up the proportions so much I just wing it after all. 

I’m not sure if this makes me a good, or a bad cook. But that’s for the people eating my food to decide. 

So here are two recipes, with suggested ingredients and realistic instructions, because we all know you don’t want to do fraction math. Join me and just wing it (unfortunately not any real wings).

Spinach Dip Stuffed Chicken

Ingredients

Chicken Breasts

Cream Cheese

Other kinds of cheese that you like

Garlic (any form)

Spinach (optional)

Instructions

Microwave cream cheese in a bowl until soft, chop up as much spinach as you’d like; add it to the cream cheese. Add as much other cheese as you want and mix. Put in as much garlic powder as you desire (I use A LOT) and mix that in also. Cut some kind of slit in the chicken breast, shove as much of the mixture as you can into the hole. Throw some toothpicks in it to hold it shut if it’s gaping. Then put it in the oven, in an oven friendly chicken cooking dish and cook it for like 25-35 minutes depending on how paranoid you are (I cook it for about 40). Take it out, and serve it with whatever your favourite side is. I like French style string beans and roasted red potatoes with some blend of yummy smelling spices. 
Bacon, Mushroom, Chicken Cheese Stuffed Pasta Goodness

Ingredients:

Bacon

Mushrooms

Chicken Breast

Boursin Cheese (there’s an actual Boursin Cheese that’s made as a cooking sauce but idk if it still exists)

Cream or something to make the Boursin cheese into a sauce if you can’t find it

Cheese Stuffed Tortellini Pasta

Parmesan Cheese

Instructions:

Either buy pre-cooked chicken, or bake a chicken breast in the oven. Start boiling water for the pasta. Fry the bacon in a pan until about half done while chopping the mushrooms to desired size. Put the pasta in the water when it boils. Move the bacon to one side of the pan and use the other side to cook the mushrooms. Add the chicken to the pan and remove the bacon and crumble it. Pour in desired amount of sauce onto frying pan, and add the bacon back in, once warmed add the pasta and stir. Now scoop onto a plate. Voila.

Leave a Reply

