Hangry 

I spend a lot of time thinking about food, eating food, wishing I was eating food, going to get food. I just really love food. As much as I love to cook, I also love to find new restaurants to eat out at. Halifax has opened my stomach to the world of food. Growing up in a place with a pizza shop a 30 minute drive away left me unaware of the magical quality of falling in love with a new restaurant. I still continue to find new places that I want to try every week, and continue to return to all of my favorites. I wanted to make a quick list for you all of my top 5 favorite restaurants and my favorite meal at each so far. 

1. Your Father’s Moustache

This is one of my absolute favorite Halifax food locations. I have never eaten anything I did not adore, and it’s in a great location right on Spring Garden. In the summertime they have a fabulous patio!

My favorite meal here is a classic: macaroni and cheese. Now I know what you’re thinking, why would you go to a nice restaurant with tons of good food and order mac and cheese? Do you not eat that every second day anyways?

On the contrary my friends, this is THE mac and cheese. It isn’t your typical cheddar-esque noodle bowl you can make in a microwave. This is a gormet, 4 cheese delicacy that will leave you thinking you just ate one of the fanciest pastas in an Italian restaurant. Trust me, you will not regret this. Get it with a ceasar salad and one of their incredible soups and you will not be dissapointed.

2. Oasis Pub

This is a new addition to my list of favorite restaurants. I was skepticle at first, it isn’t exactly a posh, well cleaned, well lit place. They even have a hot peanut machine by the entrance. BUT, as is the case with many people and things, you cannot judge this book by its cover.

These are some of the BEST wings  have ever had in my life (and I have had a lot). Wonderfully crispy, perfect amount of sauce, plenty of choices, you can order by the numbe of wings, and they’re dirt cheap. On Thursdays you can eat as many wings as your heart wants while saving your wallet.

3. Darrel’s

This is a hidden gem in the Saint Mary’s area downtown. The restaurant is small, without a ton of seating, but the food is better quality than any chain you can find. The cute old fashion feel just adds to the atmosphere of getting good wholesome food.

You NEED to get the peanut butter burger. It sounds gross, I know, trust me I fought it for a long time. But it is life changing. Get it with the Darrel fries and a side of chipotle mayo for dipping. If you’re feeling ambitious you can even snag one of their famous milkshakes.

4. Mongolie Grill

This is the stir fry place to end all stir fry places. You get to go through three long buffet tables full of any meats, veggies, sauces, etc. you can think of. You put thn all in a dish and a chef fries them all up on a huge circular grill right in the middle of the room. The best part? Soup and rice are free!

I suggest any soup that involves curry or spicy in the name they are always so delicious. Also use the rice to your advantage to keep the price down on your stir fry. Just another hint they have a fantastic strawberry daiquiri!

5. Pizza Delic

This isn’t exactly a restaurant, but it is the best place for delivery pizza. They have tons of options on their menu, but I always get the same thing:

A PizzaDelic meal. This is a 16″ pizza with 5 toppings, a 12″ garlic fingers and a two litre pop, with free delivery all for $25. This place has the best donair sauce in Halifax, honestly the only one I like that I’ve tried so far.

I suggest getting ham, hamburger, and double bacon on the pizza and using your last topping to add bacon to the pizza.

If you’re feeling adventurous ask for an order of dough balls. Trust me you won’t regret it.

That’s all for now! If you have a favorite restaurant leave a comment. I’m heading to eat soon.

xo

Cassey

Leave a Reply

