En français s’il vous plaît! 

My teachers would not be happy with English, but I must make an exception. I do not have the french skills yet to convey what I want to say.

Not many people know that a while ago I applied for an internship with Elegant Productions in Halifax. I knew that it was a long shot, and I almost didn’t bother applying for fear of rejection. Then I decided to do it, because what did I really have to lose? I was not a risk taker, I usually never applied for things I didn’t think I could get, because no one likes hearing they aren’t good enough. I didn’t hear back for a long time, over a month actually, and I was dissapointed, but I accepted it. 

I received word that I had an interview, at the beginning of May, and I was completely caught off guard. I didn’t tell anyone at first because I was so shocked. Then I realized that there was something wrong. Why was I so surprised? Why had I assumed I had no chance? I didn’t even know my competition, or if I had any, and I still believed in my heart I wouldn’t get it. 

This is the problem mes amis (throw in a little french to make it legit). Too often we become complacent with a lack of self confidence. We spend time with our friends trying to one up each other on who has the most failures. It’s popular. Lacking self-confidence is past trendy, it’s mainstream. How did we get to this? There’s a difference between being “cocky” and being proud of yourself when you work hard. 

I spent hours making the resume and cover letter. I spent days thinking of a create layout. I spent weeks and months doing things that would improve my skills. I spent years being the best self I could be, and doing the things I love to get myself to that interview. So people can call me what they want, but I don’t think we should be surprised to earn things we worked for. It is the product of our dedication. 

I’m beyond excited to tell you all that I will be working as an intern with Elegant Productions: event planning and design this summer and fall. I could not be happier with the company, the amazing staff, and the idea of spending time planning WEDDINGS! Mount Saint Vincent has introduced me to so many people that have exposed me to so many things. It was through a fellow PR student that I heard about the company. La vie est belle! 

2 thoughts on “En français s’il vous plaît! 

  1. Congrats Cassey hard work always pays off. enjoy your intern with Elegant Productions you never know where it will take you. Proud of you love Dad

    Like

  2. Cassey!!!!!! That’s Fabulous!!!! You should be so proud of yourself, I’m sure you will be a wonderful asset to the company!!
    You Rock Babygirl ❤️❌⭕️

    Like

Leave a Reply

