Orlando Day 3 & 4

I was always told that I would learn from my experiences, that I could conquer fears by facing them. I always thought that was completely a lie, how on earth could throwing ourselves into things that we feared make us less afraid? I am slowly beginning to realize that this is so true.

I was standing in front of the scariest looking roller coaster I had seen (probably not even that bad for anyone else). It involved twisting, dropping, heights and worst of all: going upside down. I haven’t had the chance to travel much yet in my life, so I only went on one upside down coaster before, and it was by pure accident. I got off that ride at Canada’s Wonderland shaking, crying, and fairly positive my pants were not the littlest bit wet from the rain. I had never been so scared in my life. So standing at Universal yesterday in front of The Hulk (not even the scariest coaster at Universal), watching the car race around upside down and sideways made me want to run the other way. I stopped and stood still, staring at the giant green coaster. I said to myself, can this really hurt me? And my adrenalin pumping brain answered:

YES OF COURSE YES! DO NOT GET ON THAT! ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND?!

So I closed my eyes, took a deep breath, and thought about all the things I have accomplished this year. I have gotten over fears of making friends, spiders, typical first year stuff, but I have also made leaps in getting over greater fears of not being good enough, opening my heart to anyone else, and failure.

A fear of falling out of a very secure seat with belt buckles, full body straps, while going not really that fast, when thousands of people do it per day and end up coming out alive, seemed a little bit silly now. So I got on it, and I absolutely loved it. I barely screamed, I mostly laughed, and hooted along with the rest of the “thrillseekers” beside me. I then proceeded to get on every ride we passed at Universal except for one, which I couldn’t stomach due to a recent inhaling of a chicken sandwich.

I noticed that my experiences had changed me. Flying turned out to be fun, I liked it. Now that I knew that, it wasn’t scary anymore. Roller Coasters turned out to be great, and I was happier because of it.

Disney wasn’t quite as exciting, and I didn’t have many life changing moments, but it was still fun. I met Minnie, ate okay food and went on rides. I think that being 19 and never going before made it hard to see the sparkling magic every child and even young teen saw. I tried to put myself in young little me’s perspective, she would have loved it.

The theme park days we’re a success, and I really did enjoy myself. I guess you could say I’m a thrill seeker now too. What will be next you ask? I don’t know, and that’s the best part. Never knowing where life will take you is the most thrilling, magical thing of all. Never wait for anything if you can dream it, you can make it happen, with a little faith, trust and pixie dust.

Leave a Reply

