Short Years

As I sat in front of my computer, inexplicably confused/frustrated by the fact that my two previous blog posts had different fonts, I momentarily redirected my attention (a.k.a. squirrel attention span as per usual) to my social media accounts. I scrolled over the emails from clothing stores, watched a few Buzzfeed videos on my Facebook timeline, and then I got a notification that my Timehop was ready for the day.

For anyone who isn’t on Timehop it’s an app that will hook into your social media accounts, and display posts for you from a year ago, two years ago, etc. on that specific day. I haven’t had social media for very long so it only looks back three years, and those are usually only purposely misspelled song lyrics that I felt were relevant to the world (usually Taylor Swift, or Eminem when I was feeling angst-y). 

Today’s Timehop featured a retweet from one year ago today of a picture. When I saw it I realized just how many things can change in a short year.

timehop

Seeing this picture brought me back to that day one year ago. It brought back the emotions, the stress, the things I had been trying so hard to forget all this time. I felt hurt for a moment, and then remembered, just how much can change in a short year. I was in Halifax, at Mount Saint University. I had spent the last year saying yes to the things that scared me. I had overcome fears, obstacles, and even a few of the toughest professors this school has. All of the bad things that happened to me in earlier years were the reasons why I was able to do all of the things I loved this year. I used the energy to make a difference, to be who I wanted to be and not let anyone dictate that for me anymore. I suppose that as much as things can seem in the short-term to have defeated you, you may find a while down the road that you are better because of it. We learn from our mistakes, and we learn from our past.

Never run back to whatever broke you, but more importantly never run from whatever broke you. Face it, acknowledge it, and then (for lack of more professional words) kick its ass.

2 thoughts on “Short Years

  1. Cassey,
    You are an amazing woman who has conquered so much in your young life.
    You are living proof that you can be whoever or do whatever you want to in life.
    The world is at your fingertips ,reach out and grab it.
    Wishing you all the best in all you do.
    There will be good and bad days ahead,just stand tall and be yourself.
    You will do wonders I am sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

